Home Announces Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announces 2020 inductees

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announces 2020 inductees


The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame revealed its list of 2020 inductees, a class that includes late singer Whitney Houston.

The artists and bands who will be inducted this spring are Houston, the Doobie Brothers, The Notorious B.I.G., Depeche Mode, T. Rex, and Nine Inch Nails.

Houston, who died in 2012 at the age of 48, dominated the charts in the 1980s and 1990s and is known for her vocal talent and live performances.

“Each of those bands has helped shape the form that rock & roll has taken over the years,” Michael McDonald, who is being inducted for his time working with the Doobie Brothers, told Rolling Stone.

Music journalist and producer Jon Landau and manager Irving Azoff were also awarded the Ahmet Ertegun Award, which recognizes “songwriters, producers, disc jockeys, record executives, journalists and other industry professionals who have had a major influence on rock & roll.”

To be considered for induction, the artist or band must have released its first commercial record 25 years prior to selection. An international panel of more than 1,000 artists and historians vote to decide who gets selected.

The induction ceremony will take place in May.